MMTC to Confer Special Awards to Akin Gump, Davis Wright Tremaine, and Former FCC Commissioners at July Conference – Less Than Three Weeks Away!

by mmtcbbsj on June 23, 2013

Distinguished Pro Bono Service Awardees

Please join us for the Minority Media and Telecommunications Council’s 11th Annual Access to Capital and Telecom Policy Conference, July 9th and 10th.

Every year, MMTC confers several awards upon noteworthy individuals, firms, and organizations. Our Distinguished Pro Bono Service Award goes to a law or engineering firm that has provided extraordinary service to the cause of diversity and inclusion in the media and telecommunications industries. Our Extraordinary Service Award goes to volunteers who have far exceeded the call of duty in the service of the civil rights cause.

This year, the Pro Bono Service Awards go to Akin Gump and Davis Wright Tremaine, two law firms that couldn’t be more deserving. The Extraordinary Service Awards go to the signers of MMTC’s Supreme Court Amici Curiae Brief on behalf of former FCC Commissioners and General Counsel in the Fisher v. University of Texas case.

2013 Distinguished Pro Bono Service Awardee: Akin Gump

Thanks to pro bono assistance from Akin Gump, MMTC, along with a bipartisan group composed of six former FCC Commissioners and one former FCC General Counsel, filed an amici curiae brief with the United States Supreme Court in support of the constitutionality of the University of Texas’ admissions program designed to create diversity in higher education (Fisher v. University of Texas).

Tom W. Davidson, Akin Gump partner in charge of the firm’s mass communication and information technology practice, enlisted the support of his law partner, Patricia Ann Millett, partner in charge of the firm’s Supreme Court practice. Millett, who was recently nominated by President Barack Obama to serve on the DC Circuit Court of Appeals, was joined by Senior Counsel, Ruthanne Deutsch, an experienced litigator whose practice focuses on appellate law and federal practice and procedure. Davidson, Millett, and Deutsch have all been invited to accept the Distinguished Pro Bono Service Award on behalf of Akin Gump.

2013 MMTC Extraordinary Service Awardees: Fisher Brief Signers

The Fisher amicus brief was supported by six former FCC Commissioners and one former FCC General Counsel. MMTC presents Extraordinary Service Awards to the following signers of the Fisher Brief for their support for the cause of diversity in higher education and in the communications industries:

Fisher Brief Signers

Former FCC Commissioner Andrew C. Barrett
Former FCC Commissioner Tyrone Brown
Former FCC Acting Chair and Commissioner Michael Copps
Former FCC Chair Reed Hundt
Former FCC Commissioner Nicholas Johnson
Former FCC Commissioner Gloria Tristani
Former FCC General Counsel Chris Wright

2013 Distinguished Pro Bono Service Awardee: Davis Wright Tremaine

Davis Wright Tremaine has generously supported MMTC by providing mentoring, office infrastructure, and general operational support, above and beyond the call of duty. Wes Heppler, MMTC’s relationship partner and a member of the New Telecom and Internet Taskforce, will be accepting the award on behalf of Davis Wright Tremaine. Heppler represents cable and telecommunications clients on a wide variety of issues before the FCC, and he is a passionate advocate on behalf of underserved communities, having served with dedication as Board President of the Washington DC Legal Clinic for the Homeless for 16 years. Heppler is a musician and songwriter and recently produced a music CD, The Fall Off, the title of which was inspired by his work with the homeless.

Why else should you attend the conference? Take a look:

We are excited to present you with a conference that brings together over 350 policymakers, innovators, entrepreneurs, and investors to explore access to capital for minority- and women-owned media, new media, and telecom companies.

The conference takes place July 9th and 10th at Washington’s Embassy Suites Convention Center Hotel.  Those who are joining us from out of town receive a discounted room rate if they book by June 24.

Register today!

Be sure to bookmark the conference website for up-to-date information.

See you July 9th and 10th!

  • Follow Us on Facebook
  • Follow Us on Twitter
  • Subscribe to Newsletter

Previous post:

Next post: