The Minority Media and Telecommunications Council Presents: The Fifth Annual Broadband and Social Justice Summit – Save the Date for January 15th and 16th, 2014! Registration Opens Soon!

by mmtcbbsj on November 14, 2013

BBSJ Summit 5MMTC’s 2014 Broadband and Social Justice Summit, “Bridging the Gap:  Infrastructure, Education, and Equity in the Digital Economy,” convenes media and telecom industry experts and insiders to highlight the biggest issues affecting MWBEs and underserved communities.

This year’s Summit highlights how Internet adoption is the great equalizer – it creates jobs and entrepreneurship, promotes STEM education, and enables the creation of diverse content and applications that result in improvements in telehealth, digital education, and entrepreneurship.

Speakers include current and former FCC Commissioners and Members of Congress, White House officials, entrepreneurs, and nonprofit and media industry leaders discussing innovative government and private sector initiatives to stimulate economic opportunity, job growth, and education.

Panel Highlights:

  • Next Generation of Digital Media Entrepreneurs’ Boot Camp
  • Congressional Luncheon with current and former Members of Congress
  • Reducing Disparities in Health, Wealth, and Education through Broadband
  • No Broadband Left Behind:  Empowering Communities of Color to Excel through Digital and STEM Education
  • Looking Back to Go Forward – Lessons from Entrepreneur Superstars
  • Social Justice Awards Reception
  • FCC Commissioners’ Roundtable
  • Former FCC Chairs’ Roundtable
  • Broadband:  Backbone of the New Economy
  • High Tech Policy Luncheon
  • Digital Media Networking Reception

Confirmed Speakers Include:

  • Hon. Jonathan Adelstein, Former Commissioner, FCC; President, PCIA
  • State Rep. Joe Armstrong (D-TN)
  • State Sen. Sharon Weston Broome (D-LA) – President Emeritus, NOBEL Women
  • Hon. James Clyburn, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Hon. Reed Hundt, Former Chairman, FCC
  • Hon. William E. Kennard, Former Chairman, FCC; Former U.S. Ambassador to the European Union
  • Hon. Cliff Stearns, Former Congressman (R-FL)
  • Hon. Deborah Taylor Tate, Former Commissioner, FCC
  • Hon. Ed Towns, Former Congressman (D-NY)
  • Hon. Richard E. Wiley, Former Chairman, FCC
  • Melanie Campbell, President & CEO, Black Women’s Roundtable and National Coalition for Black Civic Participation
  • Maria Cardona, Co-Chair, inSPIRE STEM USA
  • Ari Fitzgerald, Partner, Hogan Lovells
  • Emilio Gonzalez, Vice President, Verizon Communications
  • Kristal High, Editor-in-Chief, Politic365
  • Marva Johnson, Senior Vice President, Bright House Networks
  • Maria Teresa Kumar, Co-Founder, Voto Latino
  • Fernando Laguarda, Senior Vice President, Time Warner Cable
  • Kevin Lewis, Lewis Education Group, Entrepreneur and author of Crowdfundamentals
  • Hon. Marc Morial, President and CEO, National Urban League
  • Ruth Perot, Executive Director and CEO, Summit Health Institute for Research and Education
  • Karen S. Rheuban, M.D., Medical Director, Office of Telemedicine, University of Virginia
  • Jim Shelton, Acting Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Education
  • Craig Silliman, Senior Vice President of Public Policy, Verizon
  • Jim Winston, President & CEO, NABOB

The conference will be held January 15th and 16th at the Westin Georgetown Hotel in Washington, DC – Save the date and look forward to more details on panels and speakers in the coming days!

  • Follow Us on Facebook
  • Follow Us on Twitter
  • Subscribe to Newsletter

Previous post:

Next post: