Register Now for MMTC’s Fourth Annual Broadband & Social Justice Policy Summit #BBSJ2013

by mmtcbbsj on December 23, 2012

Washington, DC’s Minority Media and Telecommunications Council (MMTC) will convene some of the nation’s most noted leaders on broadband policy, telecommunications, and social justice to discuss “Creating Economic Opportunity Through Digital Equality” at its 4th Annual Broadband & Social Justice Summit.

WASHINGTON, DC, 12/24/2012 – The Minority Media and Telecommunications Council (MMTC) created the Broadband and Social Justice (BBSJ) Summit in 2010 to serve as a forum around broadband and telecom inequities, begin action on proposed policy, and to give a voice to the popular MMTC Broadband & Social Justice Blog.  This yearʼs Summit will address:

  • Opportunities for entrepreneurs in a digital economy
  • Creative content distribution arrangements
  • Opportunities in the mobile applications economy
  • The role of new legislation in the drive for technological change
  • Congressional involvement in Internet and telecom policy
  • The use of spectrum incentive auctions and infrastructure build-out to create jobs, spur economic growth and bridge the wealth gap
  • Innovative government and private sector initiatives designed to stimulate economic opportunity.

Panels will also focus on how Internet adoption creates jobs and entrepreneurship, promotes STEM education, and enables the creation of diverse content and mobile applications that result in improvements in telehealth, digital education, civic participation, and entrepreneurship. Highlights include roundtables of FCC Commissioners, supplier diversity experts, and members of Congress.

The Summit will also include the annual Congressional Luncheon, High Tech Policy Luncheon, and Social Justice Reception, which features an awards gala with special guests and networking with participants.

Registration and sponsorship details can be found on the BBSJ Registration Page.

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

8:00AM                   Registration Opens
9:00-11:45AM       Boot Camp:  How to Become a Next Generation Digital Media Entrepreneur
12:00-1:45PM       Congressional Luncheon:  Designing Telecom and Internet Policy for the Digital Age
2:00-3:00PM         Broadband:  The Backbone of The New Economy
3:15-4:15PM         How to Generate Diverse Participation in the Telecom and Internet Spaces
4:30-5:30PM         Unleashing Entrepreneurial Opportunity:  The Obama Administration’s Business Innovation Agenda
5:30-7:30PM         Social Justice Awards Reception
7:30-9:30PM         Inaugural Meeting of the New Telecom and Internet Policy Taskforce

Thursday, January 17, 2013

8:00AM                   Registration Opens
8:30-9:45AM         FCC Commissioners’ Broadband Breakfast Roundtable
10:00-11:00AM     Former FCC Chairs’ Roundtable
11:00- 12:15PM    NOBEL Women Present:  Broadband Solutions for Accessible and Affordable Healthcare Delivery and Digital Education in the 21st Century
12:30-2:00PM     High Tech Policy Luncheon: Empowering Education, Entrepreneurship, Health and Civic Participation through Broadband
2:15-3:15PM         21st Century Vision for Universal Broadband Adoption
3:15-4:45PM         Supplier Diversity Roundtable:  Opportunities for Entrepreneurial Success in Broadband, Spectrum, and Infrastructure
4:45-5:00PM         Summit Adjourns
6:00PM-1AM          National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) Hall of Fame Awards Induction and Ball, The Newseum (discounted tickets available to MMTC’S BBSJ Summit attendees for $150)

Confirmed Speakers and Presenters

  • Eugene Agee, Vice President, Procurement and Real Estate, Sprint Nextel
  • Clayton Banks, President and CEO, Ember Media
  • Laura Berrocal, Vice President, Public Policy and Hispanic Affairs, NetCommunications; Member, MMTC Board of Advisors
  • Hon. Yvette D. Clarke (D-NY), Member of Congress
  • Jacqueline Clary, Esq., Senior Counsel and John W. Jones Fellow, MMTC
  • Hon. Mignon Clyburn, Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission
  • David L. Cohen, Executive Vice President, Comcast (via video)
  • Maurita Coley, Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, MMTC
  • Hon. Michael Copps, Former Acting Chair, Federal Communications Commission; Former FCC Commissioner
  • Ari Fitzgerald, Partner, Hogan Lovells; Member, MMTC Board of Directors
  • Dean C. Garfied, President and CEO, Information Technology Industry Council (ITI)
  • Anna M. Gomez, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Communications and Information Policy, and Deputy Administrator, National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA), U.S. Department of Commerce
  • David J. Grain, Founder and Managing Partner, Grain Management LLC; CEO, Grain Communications Group
  • David Honig, President, MMTC
  • Hon. Reed Hundt, Former Chair, Federal Communications Commission
  • Joycelyn James, Senior Counsel and Cathy Hughes Fellow, MMTC
  • Hon. Julia L. Johnson, President, NetCommunications; Chair, MMTC Board of Directors
  • Ronald L. Johnson, CEO, Ronson Network Services; Member, MMTC Board of Directors
  • Anna Maria Kovacs, Ph.D, Visiting Senior Policy Scholar, Georgetown University, McDonough School of Business
  • Fernando Laguarda, Vice President, External Affairs and Policy Counselor, Time Warner Cable
  • Blair Levin, Telecommunications Policy Strategist, Communications and Society Fellow, The Aspen Institute
  • Bruce Lincoln, Founder and Chief Design Scientist, Urban Cyberspace Company
  • Jonathan Linkous, Ph.D, President, American Telemedicine Association
  • Latoya Livingston, Esq., Senior Counsel and Earle K. Moore Fellow, MMTC
  • Jane Mago, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, National Association of Broadcasters
  • Kimberly Marcus, Associate Director for Office of Legislation, Education and Intergovernmental Affairs, Minority Business Development Agency, U.S. Department of Commerce
  • Hon. Robert W. McDowell, Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission
  • Hon. Ajit Pai, Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission
  • Bret Perkins, Vice President of External and Government Affairs, Comcast
  • Craig Silliman, Senior Vice President, Legal and External Affairs, Verizon Business
  • Hon. Clifford Stearns (R-FL), Member of Congress
  • Hon. Deborah Taylor Tate, Former Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission; Vice Chair, MMTC
  • Hon. Ed Towns (D-NY), Member of Congress
  • Dr. Nicol Turner-Lee, Ph.D, President, NAMIC; Member, MMTC Board of Directors
  • James L. Winston, Executive Director and General Counsel, National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters
  • Howard Woolley, Senior Vice President, Strategic Alliances and Wireless Public Policy, Verizon Communications

MMTC Broadband & Social Justice Policy Summit 2013
WHEN: January 16 – 17, 2013
WHERE: The Westin Georgetown Hotel | 2350 M Street Washington, DC 20036
TIME: Registration opens at 8:00 AM January 16

Important Links
Conference Registration
MMTC Website

Please like us on Facebook and follow us @mmtconline on Twitter. For media requests, please contact MMTC Director of Communications Marcella Gadson at

*  *  *  *  *

MMTC is a national nonprofit organization founded in 1986 to promote and preserve media diversity and equal opportunity in the mass media, telecommunications, and broadband industries.

Previous post:

Next post: