Rainbow PUSH Coalition Honors Engaged and Inspiring Leaders Tonight and Tomorrow at Annual Media and Telecom Symposium

by Guest Contributor on November 14, 2013

Rainbow PUSH Symposium 2013The Rainbow PUSH Coalition will commence its Annual Media and Telecom Symposium with an Opening VIP Reception tonight at the Capitol Hilton Hotel, 1001 16th Street, NW, Washington, DC 200036.  The full day symposium will take place on Friday, November 15, 2013, at the same location.

The Opening VIP reception will honor an inaugural list of 2013 Top Inspirational and Engaged Leaders within the corporate, private, public and community advocacy sectors.  “These leaders have a proven track record of embracing selflessness and inspiring others within their industries and communities and in this inaugural presentation, we want our communities to know about them,” stated Reverend Jesse L. Jackson, Founder and President.  The 2014 honorees include: Crystal L. Bass, Playwright & Activist; Jamie Foster Brown, Sister to Sister Magazine; Myra Dandridge, National Association of Broadcasters; Ralph Everett, Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies; Kristal High, Politics365; Howie Hodges, Time Warner Cable; Cheryl Leanza, United Church of Christ, OC Inc; Tanya Lombard, AT&T; Steven Renderos, Center for Media Justice; Hilary Shelton, NAACP; Debra Speed, Verizon Communications; Joseph Torres, Free Press; S. Jenell Trigg, Lerman Senter, PLLC; Dr. Nicol Turner-Lee, MMTC;  Wanda Townsend, National Cable & Telecommunications Association; and James Winston, National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters. 

The symposium will continue Friday, November 15, 2013 with sessions focusing on media and telecommunications, voting rights, financial literacy and the business of sports.  Featured speakers include political strategist Donna Brazile; civil rights pioneer Barbara Arnwine; U.S. Department of Education Deputy Secretary Jim Shelton; media mogul, Jamie Foster Brown and other leaders and experts in these fields.  At the symposium, Rainbow PUSH will also issue two Lifetime Achievement Awards to The Honorable Mignon Clyburn, Former Acting Chairwoman of the Federal Communications Commission and David Honig, President and Co-Founder of the Minority Media and Telecommunications Council (MMTC) during the Annual Luncheon.

The Rainbow PUSH Coalition is a progressive organization protecting, defending and expanding civil rights to improve economic and educational opportunity. The organization is headquartered at 930 E. 50th St. in Chicago. For more information about the RainbowPUSH Coalition, please visit the organization’s website, www.rainbowpush.org, or telephone (773) 373-3366. To confirm your attendance at the press conference, or to get additional information, please call the number listed above.  This event is free and open to the public.

  • Follow Us on Facebook
  • Follow Us on Twitter
  • Subscribe to Newsletter

Previous post:

Next post: